The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Java Answers Forum
Function sequence error??????

6 replies on 1 page. Most recent reply: Apr 23, 2002 11:56 AM by ann smythe

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 6 replies on 1 page
Elliott Wood

Posts: 15
Nickname: tooess
Registered: Mar, 2002

Function sequence error?????? Posted: Apr 8, 2002 4:52 PM
Reply to this message Reply
Advertisement
Does anyone know what the function sequence error is, or what causes it, or where I might be able to find information on it?
If would be greatly appreciated if anyone could give me any information about it.
Thanks


Thomas SMETS

Posts: 307
Nickname: tsmets
Registered: Apr, 2002

Re: Function sequence error?????? Posted: Apr 8, 2002 5:02 PM
Reply to this message Reply
Could you put much more information ?

R U calling specific API's ?
Is there a Stacktrace
try
{  // Potentially dangerous code !
   ...
}catch(Exception e)
{
  e.printStackTrace();
}


This is the first step you should take to get some help !!!

thomas,
tsmets @ lautre . net

Elliott Wood

Posts: 15
Nickname: tooess
Registered: Mar, 2002

Re: Function sequence error?????? Posted: Apr 8, 2002 6:06 PM
Reply to this message Reply
Hooray!!!! after some heavy duty internet searching I have found the solution to my problem. It appears that if I call
System.gc();
The error no longer raises its ugly head.
I'll sleep easy tonight i'm telling you.

Thomas SMETS

Posts: 307
Nickname: tsmets
Registered: Apr, 2002

Re: Function sequence error?????? Posted: Apr 8, 2002 6:19 PM
Reply to this message Reply
Cold you explain what exactly so we learn from your mistake ?

thomas,

Matt Gerrans

Posts: 1153
Nickname: matt
Registered: Feb, 2002

Re: Function sequence error?????? Posted: Apr 8, 2002 10:10 PM
Reply to this message Reply
Yes, maybe you can post your code. If you have to call System.gc() to eliminate the symptoms of your problem, that is probably indicative of some real problem which you haven't really solved, but hidden. Maybe you were doing something in finalize() as if it were a C++ destructor, for instance. Of course, there is a big difference between the two -- one is deterministic and the other isn't.

lorilstevens

Posts: 1
Nickname: dewy
Registered: Apr, 2002

Re: Function sequence error?????? Posted: Apr 13, 2002 4:38 PM
Reply to this message Reply
im new at this but im havig trouble fiquring out how to reload the java im unable to play any of the games if anyone knows how to do this please inform me thank you. dewy

ann smythe

Posts: 1
Nickname: annie
Registered: Apr, 2002

Re: Function sequence error?????? Posted: Apr 23, 2002 11:56 AM
Reply to this message Reply
I normally get a function sequence error as a result of a database query (we are using db2 & SQL). Sometimes it is legit - misspelled word in query, trying to access a column in "while (rs.next()) {}" loop that you did not retrieve. Stuff like that. But sometimes it happens and I KNOW the query is correct - because I can run it interactively. So, are you saying I can put this garbage collection call somewhere so that does not happen? Where do I put it?

Flat View: This topic has 6 replies on 1 page
Topic: repaint parts of JTable Previous Topic   Next Topic Topic: Currency Converter Help

Sponsored Links



Google
  Web Artima.com   

Copyright © 1996-2019 Artima, Inc. All Rights Reserved. - Privacy Policy - Terms of Use