The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Java Answers Forum
!!Error using struts [INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing

10 replies on 1 page. Most recent reply: Sep 23, 2003 3:26 AM by Senthoorkumaran Punniamoorthy

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 10 replies on 1 page
perry arora

Posts: 22
Nickname: perry
Registered: Sep, 2003

!!Error using struts [INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing Posted: Sep 21, 2003 5:25 AM
Reply to this message Reply
Advertisement
hi friends need your help..


regarding my last problem iwoud like to thank who all drop theior suggestions it s was the

problem of including the commoin-beanutils.jar in the lib folder..


now the problem which ia m facing is that , i am trying to run a web application based on struts

and every thing seems to be fine but what i except the application is that after invoking the
execute method of an Action service created my be it should forward to the sucess.jsp which
i have coded in the struts-config.xml file for that particular action

i have double checked every thing . when ever i try to request the service i get a blank page


i checked the log file to check whethere there was some problem while calling the service or what

so ever but every thing is fine over there except ... i get the follwoing message in the dos

windows which shos the running tomcat instance the message is


[INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing, config='org.apache.struts.util.
LocalStrings', returnNull=true
[INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing, config='org.apache.struts.actio
n.ActionResources', returnNull=true


Senthoorkumaran Punniamoorthy

Posts: 335
Nickname: senthoor
Registered: Mar, 2002

Re: !!Error using struts [INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing Posted: Sep 21, 2003 10:27 AM
Reply to this message Reply
Post your Struts config and the source of the action class in question?

perry arora

Posts: 22
Nickname: perry
Registered: Sep, 2003

Re: !!Error using struts [INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing Posted: Sep 21, 2003 11:50 AM
Reply to this message Reply
sure

following is the informatio needed!
its a simple struts application.

code for action class

---------------------------------
port org.apache.struts.action.*;
import javax.servlet.http.*;


public class delhiAction extends Action
{

public ActionForward execute (ActionMapping actionmapping, Action action,HttpServletRequest request,HttpServletResponse response)
throws Exception
{


userInfo userinfo=(userInfo)getServlet().getServletContext().getAttribute("userinfo");

userinfo.setRegion("delhi");

getServlet().getServletContext().setAttribute("us erinfo",userinfo);

return (actionmapping.findForward("sucess"));
}// end of the execute method



}// end of the delhi action

-----------------------------------------------------

code for struts config

------------

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<!DOCTYPE struts-config PUBLIC
"-//Apache Software Foundation//DTD Struts Configuration 1.1//EN"
"http://jakarta.apache.org/struts/dtds/struts-config_1_1.dtd">


<struts-config>



<action-mappings>

<action
path="/delhi"
t ype="delhiAction">
<forward name="sucess" path="/sucess.jsp" />
</action>

<action
path="/bombay"
type="bombayAction"/>

< action
path="calcutta"
type="calcuttaAction"/>


</action-mappings>

&l t;controller
contentType="text/html;charset=UTF-8"
processorClass="MyProcessor"/ >


</struts-config>

Senthoorkumaran Punniamoorthy

Posts: 335
Nickname: senthoor
Registered: Mar, 2002

Re: !!Error using struts [INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing Posted: Sep 21, 2003 7:03 PM
Reply to this message Reply
There is a getServlet.log() method available inside the action class which you could use for logging. Why dont you use it and see after every statement whether anything is going wrong inside the action class.

getServlet().log(String);


Also when you say that it returns a empty page goto browser view and check the sorce code as to what content is coming on to the page? The browser might look balnk but something might come to it.

Joe Parks

Posts: 107
Nickname: joeparks
Registered: Aug, 2003

Re: !!Error using struts [INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing Posted: Sep 22, 2003 7:16 AM
Reply to this message Reply
I have gotten blank pages before when the forward name passed to mapping.findForward() didn't match the forward definition in struts-config.xml.

That is, you get a blank page when the perform() method returns null.

It appears, from the code you've posted, that this is not the case. Although success is spelled incorrectly, it is consistently misspelled. Are the code snippets you've posted exactly what you're executing?

The [INFO] message is not an error:
http://www.mail-archive.com/tomcat-user@jakarta.apache.org/msg101273.html

perry arora

Posts: 22
Nickname: perry
Registered: Sep, 2003

Re: !!Error using struts [INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing Posted: Sep 22, 2003 10:17 AM
Reply to this message Reply
hi

yes the success is spelled sucess in the whole code with N INTENTION but the code i have posted is the same i am using.....

but it is not working...

Any suggestionssss!!!!! its urgent,,,

Joe Parks

Posts: 107
Nickname: joeparks
Registered: Aug, 2003

Re: !!Error using struts [INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing Posted: Sep 22, 2003 6:08 PM
Reply to this message Reply
What does your custom processor ("MyProcessor") do?

perry arora

Posts: 22
Nickname: perry
Registered: Sep, 2003

Re: !!Error using struts [INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing Posted: Sep 22, 2003 11:03 PM
Reply to this message Reply
hi following is the code for MyProcessor...

c if any 1 can help me




public void process(HttpServletRequest request,HttpServletResponse response)
throws IOException,ServletException
{

request=processMultipart(request);
String path=processPath(request,response);
ActionMapping mapping=processMapping(request,response,path);
ActionForm actionform=processActionForm(request,response,mapping);
Action action=processActionCreate(request,response,mapping);
ActionForward actionforward=processActionPerform(request,response,action,actionform,mapping);

processForwardConfig(request,response,actionforward);
}

public ActionForward processActionPerform(HttpServletRequest request,HttpServletResponse response, Action action,ActionForm actionform,ActionMapping mapping)
throws IOException,ServletException
{

try{
return (action.execute(mapping,actionform,request,response));
}
catch(Exception e){
return (processException(request, response, e, actionform, mapping));
}

}

}// end of the

Senthoorkumaran Punniamoorthy

Posts: 335
Nickname: senthoor
Registered: Mar, 2002

Re: !!Error using struts [INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing Posted: Sep 22, 2003 11:17 PM
Reply to this message Reply
Why are you using a custom processor without using a default one? I don't see anything additional you are doing in the custom processor?

perry arora

Posts: 22
Nickname: perry
Registered: Sep, 2003

Re: !!Error using struts [INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing Posted: Sep 23, 2003 2:13 AM
Reply to this message Reply
i am pretty new to struts

but i think the defualt RequestProcessor will return nothing

i mean i need to include the code for forwarding the request to a particular action...


and hey i think i got the problem .. and i have mentioned that i a new thread in this forum...

its with the name DTD for struts-config.xml


i think te problem is that

i am not using the proper

DTD for e.g let me ask that if i write


?xml version = '1.0' encoding = 'windows-1252'?>
<!DOCTYPE struts-config PUBLIC "-//Apache Software Foundation//DTD Struts Configuration 1.1//EN" "http://jakarta.apache.org/struts/dtds/struts-config_1_1.dtd">


on the top of my struts-config.xml will it be fine ..

or there is any other suitable .. and for this one do i need to include some file in


the tomcat\lib or tomcat\common\lib... so that i can run the web application even when i am not online...


thxs for ur reply will be waiting for it

b bye

Senthoorkumaran Punniamoorthy

Posts: 335
Nickname: senthoor
Registered: Mar, 2002

Re: !!Error using struts [INFO] PropertyMessageResources - -Initializing Posted: Sep 23, 2003 3:26 AM
Reply to this message Reply
I don't think you need to extend the default request processor. Without using the Custom request Processor try with the default one.

ALso I don't think there is any problem with the DTD you have, this is from my struts-config.xml. You can double check with it.


<!DOCTYPE struts-config PUBLIC "-//Apache Software Foundation//DTD Struts Configuration 1.1//EN" "http://jakarta.apache.org/struts/dtds/struts-config_1_1.dtd">

Flat View: This topic has 10 replies on 1 page
Topic: applets Previous Topic   Next Topic Topic: Mouse movement

Sponsored Links



Google
  Web Artima.com   

Copyright © 1996-2019 Artima, Inc. All Rights Reserved. - Privacy Policy - Terms of Use